What Does Parks in Focus Mean to Me? -Sara, CA Coordinator

by Sara Falkoff, California Coordinator

If I had to choose one word to describe what Parks in Focus means to me, I’d choose the word opportunity.   My job is to create opportunities to get youth from my Bay Area community outdoors so that they can discover, explore, play, and connect with nature through the art of photography.  Yet during this process of creating opportunities for others, I have had (and continue to have) so many amazing personal opportunities as well.

Sara and a youth participant getting their hands dirty in a service project at Yosemite National Park.

Parks in Focus is an opportunity for me to be engaged in the lifelong process of learning and to challenge myself on a daily basis while working for a purpose I believe in.  The work that I do for Parks in Focus is more than just a job; it is an opportunity for me to hone my skills as a photographer, to grow as an environmental educator, to build a sense of place in my community, to practice stewardship, and to travel to beautiful places like Yosemite National Park.

Sara and CIT, Brian, getting the kids familiar with the stoves donated by Sports Basement Sunnyvale.

Moreover, I get to work with some really, really great people:  the California youth, Boys & Girls Club and Yosemite park staff, and of course the amazing PIF team.  My coworkers are intelligent, compassionate folks with unrelenting work ethics and the ability to provide support for each other while working from locations across the country.  I feel so fortunate to be able to work with people who support me, share my values, and make me laugh.

Parks in Focus is truly a special program, and I am so grateful for the opportunity to be in the business of creating opportunities. Thank you, Parks in Focus!

Leave a Reply

